top of page

Engineer / Architect Of The


Young Engineer of the Year, Chaitanya Kasturi (Gampa) at ASIE’s Holiday Event

2-YEOY Slide - 2023 (002).jpg

With the gradual increase in membership, ASIE has seen more and more young engineers and architects actively participating in the organization. To encourage them to be actively involved with ASIE, the Young Engineer/Architect of the Year Award was started in 1998. These Young Engineers’ names are nominated for further recognition during the Houston Engineer’s Week celebrations, organized by the Texas Society of Professionals Engineers (TSPE). Our congratulations go to Varenya Mehta, EIT, EnvSP for being awarded the ASIE Young Engineer/Architect of the Year 2023. 


Varenya Mehta is a Water Engineer at KIT Professionals, Inc. He has 5 years of experience in Air, Water and Wastewater Engineering and Research. Currently, his focus is on Water Transmission Modeling. He received his Master’s degree in Environmental Engineering from the University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign. In his free time, Varenya loves taking road trips across the USA and has traveled to a large number of national parks. His ultimate goal is to support the education of multiple low-income students in the rural region of Laddakh, India and start a scholarship for them. He has served on the Scholarship Committee and as the IT Committee Chair in 2020 and 2021. In 2022, he served on the ASIE Executive Committee and fulfilled the duties of ASIE Treasurer.

Recent recipients of the award:

2022 Raghu Veturi, PE, PTOE

2021 Vishakha Kaushik, PE

2020 Apoorv Khare

2019 Chaitanya Kasturi, PE, PMP, ENV SP
2018 Sirish Madichetti, PE, CFM 
2017 Poolkeshi Patel EIT
2016 Sai Gowthami Asam 
2015 Naresh Kolli, PE

bottom of page